Monday, October 22, 2007

A Great Book! The Five Love Languages

This has got to be one of the best books you could read to improve your marriage. Even if you don't think that you need to improve, I really recommend reading this. A few of my friends have read it, one of them said, "Besides the Scriptures, it has been the most influential book I have ever read." She then bought it for her mom and all her sisters.

The best part to me is, it is simple, and it works. You don't have to flip your life upside down and completely change your behavior. You first, have to become aware of your own love language and the love language of your spouse (do this by reading the book). Next, find out a few things that your spouse really appreciates. And last, you spend a few minutes a day making sure you do something to fill your spouses 'love tank'.

Michael and I laugh and joke about our 'love tanks' being full after we have done something to fill them. It seems like it is too easy to actually work, but it is working for me and my husband!

The Five Love Language's are:
Words of Affirmation
Quality Time
Physical Touch
Acts of Service

Let me know if you have read it and what your love language is!

I am quality time, and Michael is physical touch.


Kathy said...

sounds good! without reading it i already know what matt is - HEH. but i think i'll make a trip to the bookstore - thanks for the recommendation!

dishes and laundry said...

Yes, the love language books are very good. I also have the love languages for kids book. It's helped me to see my son, not as a greedy little turkey, always asking for stuff, but as a great kid whose love language is gifts. My other son is a quality time/affirmation kind of kid.

Jennifer said...

Hi, Marisa. I, too, enjoyed that book. It's been a while since I read it, though, so I don't remember something. Maybe you can help. Can people give/receive in two different love languages? And do we feel love from different people in different languages? Because I think I like to show love through acts of service, but I feel loved (from my husband, at least) with quality time.

marisa said...

You can give/receive in different love languages, but typically the way you give love is the way you also feel love. So, it could be a one of a few things...

1. you might have 2 love languages, one just isn't as prominent as the other.

2. You are modeling after a parent. Your parents may have shown love through acts of service, so you feel you must do that too. But, you still FEEL loved through quality time.

3. You may possibly have mis-diagnosed your love language.

And to answer your second question, it doesn't really go over this in the book, but I have my own theory. I do have different love languages with different people. With my husband it is quality time, with my kids it is physical touch (snuggling, kisses and hugs), with my parents it is gifts (I won't get rid of ANYTHING they have ever given me),

Related Posts with Thumbnails